Film Threat archive logo


By Film Threat Staff | September 29, 2001

The 2nd Annual Woodstock Film Festival (Sept. 20-23) was a resounding success, according to filmmakers, industry participants and audiences at the four day film extravaganza in Woodstock, New York. More than 90% of films, seminars and events were soldout in advance with approximately 4000 people attending.
Participating in the four day Woodstock Film Fest were Ethan Hawke, Benjamin Bratt, Fisher Stevens, Elmer Bernstein, Parker Posey, Liev Schreiber, Stanley Tucci, Talisa Soto, D.A. Pennebacker, Chris Hegedus, Albert Maysles, Jonas Mekas, John Pierson, Gary Winick, Karen Kusama, Karen Durbin, Martha Frankel and Bill Plympton among others.
In a surprise development, two films tied to win the award for Best Feature Film. Recoil by director Jarek Kupsc and Wendigo by director Larry Fessenden were honored at The Woodstock Film Festival Maverick Awards ceremony, at the Bearsville Theater, Sunday, Sept. 23, hosted by Bill Tush, of CNN’s Showbiz This Weekend.
Recoil chronicles the meeting between a Vietnam veteran and a Bosnian war survivor, and how their lives bear crushing similarities. Wendigo examines the tale of a family on a weekend visit to upstate New York and a ferocious Native American spirit who changes their lives forever.
The complete list of Maverick Award winners: ^ Best Feature Film – (TIE) Recoil, directed by Jarek Kupsc and Wendigo, directed by Larry Fessenden. ^ Best Documentary: Passages, directed by Gabriela Bohm ^ Best Short Documentary: The Internationale, directed by Peter Miller ^ Best Short Film: The Terms, directed by Johnny O’Reilly ^ Best Student Film: Helicopter, directed by Ari Gold
The ELMER BERNSTEIN AWARD, judged and presented by the legendary film composer himself, was presented to Cadaverous, directed by Michael Fiore.
The HASKELL WEXLER AWARD, judged by the renowned, Oscar-winning cinematographer, was presented to Antonio Gambone for The Impure Glance.
The BEST ANIMATION AWARD, judged and presented by foremost animator Bill Plympton, was presented to The Box, directed by Stefan Gronsky.
The 2001 HONORARY MAVERICK AWARD was presented to cinema verite innovators D.A. Pennebacker and Chris Hegedus (Don’t Look Back, Monterey Pop, The War Room) for their lifetime of commitment to documentary filmmaking. The award was presented by legendary documentary filmmaker Albert Maysles (Gimme Shelter, Grey Gardens).
Also presented at the 2nd annual arts colony fest were the New York City Film Project’s 2001 TORCHLIGHT AWARDS, announced by the Filmmakers Studio. Best feature winner was Laura Levine’s Digging for Dutch:The Search for the Lost Treasure of Dutch Schultz; The Torchlight Short Film Award went to Domenica Cameron-Scorsese, for her experimental work, A Little God.
For more info on the fest, go to the official Woodstock Film Festival web site.
Check out’s FILM FESTIVAL ARCHIVES for more fest news!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join our Film Threat Newsletter

Newsletter Icon