Film Threat archive logo


By Film Threat Staff | July 22, 2002

Four first-timers have been elected by their branches to represent them on the Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, five incumbent members have been reelected and four governors who had previously served on the Academy’s board have been brought back. Their terms will begin August 1.
Newcomers to the board are J. Paul Huntsman, sound branch; Jeffrey Kurland, art directors branch; Bill Mechanic, executives branch; and Owen Roizman, cinematographers branch.
Returning to the board are Gilbert Cates, directors branch, after a nine-year absence; Kathleen Kennedy, producers branch, following a six year absence; Donn Cambern, film editors branch, away from the board for two years; and Sid Ganis, public relations branch, who had been off the board just a single year.
Incumbent governors returning to the board are Tom Hanks, actors; Charles Bernstein, music; June Foray, short films and feature animation; Bill Taylor, visual effects; and Fay Kanin, writers.
Two additional governors, both representing the one-year-old documentary branch, are being selected in an election currently in progress and also will join the Academy board in August.
Three governors represent each of the Academy’s branches and are elected for staggered terms, so that each branch elects or re-elects one governor each year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join our Film Threat Newsletter

Newsletter Icon