The 12th Annual Hollywood Film Festival’s “Hollywood Awards®” ceremony was held last night before a standing-room-only audience of over 1,100 Hollywood Film Festival® attendees at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills.

The festival and awards, co-chaired by Paul Haggis and presented by
Starz, announced this year’s winner of the “Hollywood Movie of the
Year Award” — Christopher Nolan’s “The Dark Knight” — which was
chosen by the public voting online at the Yahoo! Movies website. The
voting site received 20 million unique visitors and over 125,000 votes
were cast. The nominees for the “Hollywood Movie of the Year Award”
were: “The Dark Knight,” “Dr. Seuss’ Horton Hears a Who!,” “Hancock,”
“Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull,” “Iron Man,”
“Kung Fu Panda,” “Sex and the City,” “Tropic Thunder,” “Wall-E,” and

The winners of the festival’s film competition were announced Sunday
night at the “Hollywood Discovery Awards® Awards Presentation Ceremony
at ArcLight Cinemas. This year’s winners are: “COOK COUNTY” by David
Pomes — Best Feature Film, “THE FORGOTTEN WOMAN” by Dilip Mehta —
Best Documentary, “THE MAGISTICAL” by Danny Oakley and John M. Cernak
— Best Animation, “JANEY MARY” by Paul Brady — Best Short Subject,
“DON’T CRY (THE BLACK GHOSTS)” by Jack Pettibone — Hollywood Mobile

Special honors went to Dustin Hoffman for career achievement, Ben
Stiller’s “Tropic Thunder” for comedy, Josh Brolin, Kirstin Scott
Thomas, Marisa Tomei, James Franco, Sally Hawkins and Robert Pattinson
for acting; Clint Eastwood and John Patrick Shanley for directing;
Christopher Nolan, Charles Roven and Emma Thomas for producing; John
Patrick Shanley and Dustin Lance Black for screenwriting; “Wall-E,”
directed by Andrew Stanton, for animation; Danny Elfman for film
composing; Mandy Walker for cinematography; Daniel P. Hanley and Mike
Hill for editing; John Nelson and Ben Snow (“Iron Man”) for visual
effects; and Sarah Greenwood for production design; and Deborah Hopper
for costume design.

In addition “Variety” announced and introduced this year’s “10 Actors
to Watch” award recipients: Viola Davis, Kat Dennings, Rebecca Hall,
Armie Hammer, Taraji Henson, Michael Kelly, Melissa Leo, Chris Pine,
Michael Shannon and Mia Wasikowska.

The festival also honored the Screen Actors Guild on its 75th

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join our Film Threat Newsletter

Newsletter Icon