Film Threat archive logo


By Film Threat Staff | May 8, 2006

The fifth annual Tribeca Film Festival has announced the winners of its competitions at an awards dinner at The Golden Bridge.

This year’s Festival included 274 films from 40 countries and featured panel discussions, filmmaker events, gala premieres of major studio releases, and the Family Festival.

“We’re very pleased with the growth of the festival and most appreciative of the support we’ve received from our sponsors, the community and all our volunteers,” said Robert De Niro.

“I want to thank the filmmakers for choosing Tribeca and being part of our family for the last two weeks,” said Jane Rosenthal. “The diversity of your stories and varied perspectives is what inspires us to put this Festival together each year, they not only entertain but educate and inform.”

“Our competition jurors faced some tough choices this year but what buoyed us above all was the sense we had from all the participants that merely being selected to be shown in Tribeca this year left all filmmakers feeling like winners,” said Peter Scarlet, the Festival’s executive director.

In addition to cash awards and in-kind services provided by sponsors – including AMC; American Express; Saturn; Budweiser Select; Apple; Delta Air Lines; Bloomberg; Empire State Development Corporation/I Love New York; Alfred P. Sloan Foundation – the Festival presented the winners with awards created by acclaimed artists.

“For five years we have been fortunate to have renowned local and international artists support the Festival and filmmakers by creating and donating art for our awards. It is one of the things that makes winning an award at Tribeca so unique,” said Jennifer Maguire, President of the Festival.


The Founders Award for Best Narrative Feature – Blessed By Fire (Iluminados por el Fuego), Directed by Tristán Bauer, Argentina, Spain.

Best Documentary Feature – War Tapes, Directed by Deborah Scranton, USA.

Special Documentary Jury Prize – Voices of Bam, Directed by Aliona van der Horst and Maasja Ooms, Netherlands. Outstanding achievement in documentary to Jesus Camp, directed by Heidi Ewing and Rachel Grady, USA; Jonestown:The Life and Death of Peoples Temple , directed by Stanley Nelson, USA; MAQUILOPOLIS: city of factories, directed by Vicky Funari and Sergio de la Torre, USA/Mexico.

Best New Narrative Filmmaker – Marwan Hamed for The Yacoubian Building (Omaret Yacoubian), Egypt.

Best New Documentary Filmmaker – Pelin Esmer for The Play (Oyun), Turkey.

Best Actor in a Narrative Feature Film – Jürgen Vogel in The Free Will (Der Freie Wille), Germany.
Special mention to Adel Imam, The Yacoubian Building (Omaret Yacoubian), Egypt.

Best Actress in a Narrative Feature Film – Eva Holubovà in Holiday Makers (Ucastnici zájezdu), Czech Republic.

Special mention to the ensemble cast of Holiday Makers (Ucastnici zájezdu).

NY Loves Film Documentary – When I Came Home, Directed by Dan Lohaus, USA.

Honorable mention to Jack Smith and the Destruction Of Atlantis, Directed by Mary Jordan, USA and The Cats of Mirikitani, Directed by Linda Hattendorf, USA.

Best Made in New York Narrative Feature – The Treatment, Directed by Oren Rudavsky, USA.
Honorable mention to A Very Serious Person, Directed by Charles Busch, USA.

Best Narrative Short – The Shovel, Directed by Nick Childs, USA.
Special mention to Topor and Me (Topor et moi), Directed by Sylvia Kristel, Netherlands.

Best Documentary Short – Native New Yorker, Directed by Steve Bilich, USA.

Student Visionary Award – Dead End Job, Directed by Samantha Davidson Green, USA.

Audience Award – The Cats of Mirikitani, Directed by Linda Hattendorf, USA.

Tribeca Film Institute/Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Screenplay Development Winners –Signature series: The Starry Messenger, Screenwriter Kenneth Lonergan. Main program: Project Mustard, Screenwriter Ban Zeff & Producer Andrew Bendel and Challenger, Screenwriter Nicole Perlman.

Tribeca All Access Creative Promise Award for Narrative Feature – Before the Beast Returns by Sterlin Harjo.

Tribeca All Access Creative Promise Award for Documentary Feature– Outside the Box by Lacey Schwartz.
Honorable mention – Free Angela & All Political Prisoners by Shola Lynch.

Tribeca All Access Creative Promise Award for Screenwriting – Milton Liu for John Hughes Ruined My Life.
Honorable mention – Ose Oyamendan for Resistance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join our Film Threat Newsletter

Newsletter Icon