The irreverent fifth annual Nodance Film & Multimedia Festival announced the winners of the Grand Jury and Audience Awards last night at their packed house Closing Night Party on Main Street.
“We’re thrilled to be able to bring the digital underground to Park City,” says festival director James Boyd. By providing exposure to these excellent film and digital video projects, Nodance hopes to continue its support for first-time filmmakers with limited budgets. With each film receiving multiple screenings, and the overwhelming success of our panels and parties, I’m sure we’ll return next year.”
This year’s event was held in two theatres, one centrally located at the Main Street Mall and the newly added 120-seat digital screening room at the Treasure Mountain Inn. All features, shorts and documentaries screened multiple times in each theater. Competition films, which are all screened via DVD-projection, were eligible for the Grand Jury and Audience Awards for Best Feature, Best short and Best Documentary. Also, back by popular demand, was the highly coveted “Golden Orbs” award for the most innovative guerrilla marketing campaign on the mountain.
In addition to the screenings, Nodance also hosted two panels with guests including Film Threat Editor Chris Gore, Pete Jones, writer/director of “Stolen Summer,” Jeff Balis, co-producer of “Stolen Summer,” Gretchen McGowan from Blow Up Pictures, David Koh of Palm Pictures and Mark Stolaroff of Next Wave Films. The infamous Nodance “Walk On Program” at Nodance Headquarters was a resounding success, with more than 30 filmmakers holding impromptu screenings of their films. As always, Nodance screenings were free to the public.
The results of the 2002 Nodance YEAR 5 Festival are as follows:
Grand Jury Award: Best Feature ^ “” directed by Raoul W. Heimreich ^ Presented by Entertainment
Audience Award: Best Feature ^ “Hip, Edgy, Sexy, Cool,” directed by Robert B. Martin Jr., and Aaron Priest ^ Presented by Octane/Lightning Dubbs
Grand Jury Award: Best Short ^ “Great Balls of Fire,” directed by Leon Grodski ^ Presented by Entertainment
Audience Award: Best Short ^ “It’s a Shame About Ray,” directed by Ajay Sahgal ^ Presented by Octane/Lightning Dubbs
Grand Jury Award: Best Documentary ^ “What Are You Going to do for Toilet Paper,” directed by Ben Thompson & John Grishin ^ Presented by
Audience Award: Best Documentary ^ “The Real Spider-Man: The Making of the Green Goblin’s Last Stand” dir. Dan Poole ^ Presented by Film Festival Today
Best Director ^ Steve Cuden, “Lucky”
Best Original Screenplay ^ “Down on Brighton” by writer/director Barry Shurchin
Digital Vanguard Award ^ Steven Sobel, “Resin”
Best Actor ^ Steven Sullivan, “The Last Race”
Best “DV First” Feature ^ “Cold Sweat,” directed by Ernie Mirich
Golden Orbs Award for Best Guerrilla Marketing – TIE ^ Dan Poole for “The Real Spider-Man: The Making of the Green Goblin’s Last Stand” ^ Tamara Katepoo for “Bang the Machine”
Get more info at the official No Dance Film Festival web site.
Check out’s FILM FESTIVAL ARCHIVES for more fest news!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Join our Film Threat Newsletter

Newsletter Icon