Film Threat archive logo


By Film Threat Staff | December 22, 2002

This is Spinal Tap, the Three Stooges’ 1934 short “Punch Drunks,” Disney’s film adaptations of “The Black Stallion” and “Beauty and the Beast,” the horror classic “Alien” and the pioneering wide-screen feature “This is Cinerama” were among the 25 American films added to the Library of Congress’ National Film Registry.
With last week’s announcement by Librarian of Congress James Billington, the National Film Registry now totals 350 films. The library carries out the film project with the aid of the National Film Preservation Board and from nominations by film scholars, critics and regular movie fans.
The 25 films selected to the Library of Congress’ 2002 National Film Registry are:
“Alien” (1979)
“All My Babies” (1953)
“The Bad and the Beautiful” (1952)
“Beauty and the Beast” (1991)
“The Black Stallion” (1979)
Boyz N the Hood (1991)
“Theodore Case Sound Test: Gus Visser and his Singing Duck” (1925)
“The Endless Summer” (1966)
“From Here to Eternity” (1953)
“From Stump to Ship” (1930)
“Fuji” (1974)
“In the Heat of the Night” (1967)
“Lady Windermere’s Fan” (1925)
“Melody Ranch” (1940)
“The Pearl” (1948)
“Punch Drunks” (1934)
“Sabrina” (1954)
“Star Theatre” (1901)
“Stranger than Paradise” (1984)
“This is Cinerama” (1952)
This is Spinal Tap (1984)
“Through Navajo Eyes” (1966)
“Why Man Creates” (1968)
“Wild and Wooly” (1917)
“Wild River” (1960)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join our Film Threat Newsletter

Newsletter Icon