Spread out over six Hawaiian islands, the Hawaii International Film Festival enjoyed another successful year on November 1st – 10th. Awards were announced and given out, November 7th, at the HIFF Awards Ceremony, hosted by Roger Ebert and Elizabeth Lindey-Buyers. The award winners are as follows:
“Mr. & Mrs. Iyer” – directed by Aparna Sen (First Hawaiian Bank Golden Maile for Best Feature)
Spellbound – directed by Jeff Blitz (First Hawaiian Bank Golden Maile for Best Documentary)
“Heart of the Sea” – directed by Charlotte Lagarde and Lisa Denker (Golden Maile Special Mention)
“The Maori Merchant of Venice” – directed by Don C. Selwyn (Blockbuster Video Audience Award for Best Feature)
“An Untold Triumph” – directed by Noel “Sonny” Izon (Blockbuster Video Audience Award for Best Documentary)
“Kaho’olawe: The Breath of Our Ancestors” – directed by Jackson Bauer (Blockbuster Video Audience Award for Best Short)
“I Scream, Floats & Sundays” – directed by Leah Kihara (Aloha Airlines Film & Videomaker Award)
“Eyes of a Beauty” – directed by Guan Hu (NETPAC Award)
“Ogya” – directed by Fujiro Mitsuishi (NETPAC Special Mention)
Eddie & Myrna Kamae are recipients of the Film in Hawaii Award.
Congratulations to the winners!
For more info on the festival, past, present and future, check out the Hawaii International Film Festival.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Join our Film Threat Newsletter

Newsletter Icon