Entries are now being accepted for the 2000 Austin Film Festival Film Competition, with the seventh annual festival and screenwriters conference set for Oct. 12-19. The festival will feature a special focus on the artistic contribution of screenwriters. The deadline for entering a film into competition is August 1 at a cost of $40. Categories are open to independently produced features, shorts and student shorts.
Films that have received distribution as a direct result of the film competition include: Hands on a Hard Body (1997), Lewis & Clark & George(1997), The Last Big Thing (1997), La Cucaracha (1998), Went to Coney Island on a Mission from God: Be Back by Five (1998), Wednesday’s Child (1999) and The Hi-Line (1999).
Past festival participants include: Robert Altman, James L. Brooks, Sandra Bullock, Joel and Ethan Coen, Wes Craven, Debra Hill, Dennis Hopper, Barry Josephson, Mike Judge, John Landis, Matthew McConaughey, Paul Schrader, Oliver Stone, Robert Towne, Robert Townsend and Bill Wittliff.
The Austin Film Festival and Heart of Film Screenwriters Conference is the first Festival dedicated to recognizing the writer’s contribution to the motion picture and television industry.
For more information, please call the Austin Film Festival at [ 800.310.FEST ] or visit [ ]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join our Film Threat Newsletter

Newsletter Icon