Film Threat archive logo


By Film Threat Staff | May 16, 2003

Eleven film students from nine U.S. universities have been selected as winners in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 30th Annual Student Academy Awards competition. The winners will participate in a week of industry-related activities and social events culminating on June 8 with the awards presentation ceremony at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater.
A film student from Germany also has been selected to receive this year’s Honorary Foreign Film Award.
Following are the 2003 winners:
Alternative Category ^ “The Projects Lumiere” ^ Waleed Moursi ^ California Institute of the Arts, Valencia
Animation Category ^ “Bert” ^ Moonsung Lee ^ Academy of Art College, San Francisco
“Perpetual Motion” ^ Kimberly Miner ^ Rochester Institute of Technology (R.I.T.), Rochester, New York
“A Work in Progress” ^ Wes Ball ^ Florida State University, Tallahassee
Documentary Category ^ “Indiana Aria” ^ Elizabeth Pollock ^ University of California, Berkeley
“Left Behind” ^ Christof Putzel ^ Connecticut College, New London
“Those Who Trespass” ^ Renee Fischer ^ Stanford University, Palo Alto, California
Narrative Category
“fine.” ^ Michael Downing and Philip Svoboda ^ American Film Institute, Los Angeles
“Jesus Henry Christ” ^ Dennis Lee ^ Columbia University, New York
“La Milpa (The Cornfield)” ^ Patricia Riggen ^ Columbia University, New York
Honorary Foreign Film
“The Red Jacket” ^ Florian Baxmeyer ^ University of Hamburg, Germany
While the U.S.-based students know they will each receive an award, the level of that award – gold, silver or bronze – will not be revealed until the June 8 ceremony. Besides trophies, gold medal winners receive $5,000; silver medal winners are awarded $3,000 and bronze medal winners take home $2,000.
These students first competed in one of three regional competitions. Each region was permitted to send the Academy as many as three films in each of the four categories. The finalist films were then screened and voted on by Academy members to select the winners.
The Honorary Foreign Film winner, who will receive a $1,000 cash grant, was selected from a pool of 38 entries from 25 countries. This is the first time a student from Germany’s University of Hamburg has won this award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join our Film Threat Newsletter

Newsletter Icon