Film Threat archive logo


By Film Threat Staff | May 25, 2009

ONEDREAMRUSH Enlists 42 World-Class Directors to
Create Short Films About Dreams – European premiere at Cannes Film Festival 2009 and simultaneous screening at the National Film Museum in Beijing, China.

CANNES AND BEIJING 18 May, 2009 – The world’s most awarded vodka 42BELOW renown for doing things differently created a unique project, ONEDREAMRUSH 42Second Film Showcase. ( The quirky brand has managed to curate an online exhibition of 42-second short films by 42 of the world’s most innovative and respected filmmakers, under the banner of 42×42. This will be the first time that Cannes and Beijing have been linked in a simultaneous screening at the Palais Theatre and the National Film Museum in Beijing. The roster of directors is an eclectic and international cross-section of the global community of filmmakers, writers and actors who have all contributed to this project including Arden Wohl, Abel Ferrara, Asia Argento, Brian Butler, Carlos Reygadas, Chan Marshall, Charles Burnett, Chris Milk, Chris Graham, David Lynch, Dee Poon, Floria Sigismondi, Florian Habicht, Gaspar Noe, Grant Morrison, Griffin Marcus, Harmony Korine, James Franco, Joe Coleman, Jonas Mekas, Jonathan Caouette, Kenneth Anger, Larry Clark, Leos Carax, Lola Schnabel, Lou Ye, Matt Pyke, Michele Civetta, Mike Figgis, Mote Sinabel, Niki Caro, Rajan Mehta, Rinko Kikuchi, Ryan Mcginley, Sean Lennon, Tadanobu Asano, Taika Waititi, Terence Koh, Yung Chang, Zachary Croitoroo, Zhang Yuan. Full list with nationalities below.

This project was conceptualized over a year ago allowing the directors to work unfettered and with full artistic license to create their own vision based on only one directive: to create a 42-second film on the topic of, “How do we dream?” Each director’s film will be featured on the content portal www.42× for one year. The Cannes screening marks the global launch which will lead an international tour of this cinematic showcase beginning New Zealand before traveling to New York, London and Rome.

In honor and recognition of China’s long history of filmmaking talent, ONEDREAMRUSH left the 42nd slot open for the winner of the China-only 42Second Film Competition. 42BELOW and the Beijing Film Studio issued an open invitation to China’s aspiring filmmakers to create their own 42-second interpretation. The ONEDREAMRUSH Honorary Panel, comprised of international film luminaries Cary Woods, Werner Herzog, Xia Gang and Mu Deyuan, chose the most promising directorial talent from the group. The winner of the contest will stand alongside 41 of the world’s most influential filmmakers, when announced at the Beijing screening on the 18th May.

42BELOW CEO Paul Dibbayawan notes “as a brand with creative DNA this was the perfect project that facilitates east and west inspirations on so many levels, but really it gave us a good excuse to party in Cannes with like minded creatives, in true Kiwi style”

Executive creative director and Curator Rajan Mehta notes, “In today’s world cultural exchange and creative relationships has no boundaries. The idea was to leverage that exchange to produce something that is truly unique and authentic.”

About 42BELOW
42 BELOW makes some of the planet’s finest super-premium spirits. 42 BELOW Vodka, SOUTH Gin and Seven Tiki White Rum are made 42 degrees below the equator near a location that holds the benchmark for both air and water purity. The super-premium spirits company was listed in first place in the Deloitte Unlimited Fast 50 2005, and named the fastest-growing company in New Zealand. 42 BELOW is the world’s most awarded vodka, scoring a ‘Grand Slam’ clean sweep in 2006 with gold at all four of the world’s leading spirit competitions. It is served in more than 4,500 of the world’s best bars, including the Ritz in London and the best restaurant on earth, El Bulli in Spain.
For further information:

Beau Benton
42West – US Publicity

Caroline Turner
HYPERACTIVE – International Publicity

Michael Kupferberg
42West – US Publicity

Abel Ferrara-American (Italian-American)
Arden Wohl- American
Asia Argento – Italian
Brian Butler- American
Carlos Reygadas – Mexican
Cary Woods- American
Charles Burnett- American
Charlyn Marshall- American
Chris Graham- New Zealand
Chris Milk- American
David Lynch- American
Dee Poon- Hong Kong
Floria Sigismondi –Canadian-Italian
Florian Habicht- New Zealand
Gaspar Noe- Argentinian-born French filmmaker
Grant Morrison- Scottish
Griffin Marcus- American
Harmony Korine- American (Indian)
James Franco-American
Joe Coleman- American
Jonas Mekas-Lithuanian
Jonathan Caouette- American
Kenneth Anger- American
Larry Clark- American
Leos Carax- French
Lola Schnabel-American
Lou Ye- Chinese
Matt Pyke- British
Michele Civetta- American
Mike Figgis- British
Mote Sinabel- Japanese
Niki Caro- New Zealand.
Rajan Mehta- American (Indian)
Rinko Kikuchi- Japanese
Ryan McGinley- American
Sean Lennon- American (Japanese-british)
Tadanobu Asano-Japanese
Taika Waititi- New Zealand (Maori Te Whanau-a-Apanui and Jewish descent)
Terence Koh- Chinese-Canadian
Yung Chang –Canadian (Chinese)
Zachary Croitoroo- American
Zhang Yuang- Chinese

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join our Film Threat Newsletter

Newsletter Icon