Film Threat archive logo


By Film Threat Staff | May 23, 2001

The popular web site B-Movie Theater, celebrating the art and industry of the B-Movie genre, is inviting film lovers to submit nominations for the fourth annual inductions in the B-Movie Hall of Fame. To better accommodate voters and to avoid nominations of films and individuals who are either already in the Hall of Fame or who are not technically eligible, this year’s voting will feature two comprehensive ballots with 100 B-Movies and 100 B-Movie personalities icons to choose from. The ballots can be accessed directly at the official B-Movie web site and voters are asked to select up to 10 choices per category. Voting is now open through August 15, and the winning inductions will be announced during the B-Movie Film Festival in Syracuse, NY, from September 15-16.
The nominees for Hall of Fame inclusion circle the entire B-Movie orbit, offering a line-up of stars who began their careers in the B-Movies (including Mel Gibson, Gary Oldman and Eva Peron, the controversial first lady of Argentina), those whose careers were kept alive in B-Movies after A-list stardom evaporated (including Buster Keaton, John Carradine and Peter Lorre), and those whose stardom was based solely within the borders of the genre (including Roy Rogers and Dale Evans, Hillary Brooke and Tom Neal). B-Movie choices cover all genres from the past seven decades, spanning the years from 1933’s “White Zombie” to 1999’s “The Blair Witch Project.”
“B-Movies have long been ignored by the critics and award-givers, but audiences love them and have kept the B-Movies alive all of these years,” says Ron Bonk, founder of B-Movie Theater and curator of the B-Movie Hall of Fame. “That’s why we open the voting to the film lovers around the world who can’t get enough of the B-Movies. Every year, we receive more and more votes on a wide number of classic films and iconic stars and filmmakers. The B-Movie Hall of Fame is the moviegoer’s way of saying thanks to the great films and great people who created them!”
During the first three years of voting, the B-Movie Hall of Fame has inducted the following icons of the genre: Samuel Z. Arkoff & James H. Nicholson, The Bowery Boys, Bruce Campbell, Jeanne Carmen, William Castle, Roger Corman, Jamie Lee Curtis, Godzilla, Inoshiro Honda, Joseph Kane, Boris Karloff, Lloyd Kaufman & Michael Herz, Bruce Lee, Herschell Gordon Lewis, Bela Lugosi, Jayne Mansfield, Russ Meyer, Jack Nicholson, Parker Posey, Elvis Presley, Vincent Price, Ronald Reagan & Nancy Davis (Reagan), George Romero, Emil Sitka, Barbara Steele, the Three Stooges, Mamie Van Doren, John Waters, John Wayne and Edward D. Wood Jr.
The classic B-Movies previously voted for honor are “Blood of Jesus” (1941), “Blood Feast” (1963), “Carnival of Souls” (1962), “Cat People” (1942), “Clerks” (1994), “Death Race 2000” (1975), “Detour” (1945), “The Evil Dead” (1982), “Faces of Death” (1978), “Flash Gordon” (1936), “The Flying Deuces” (1939), “Godzilla” (1954), “Halloween” (1978), “Hercules” (1957), “High School Confidential!” (1958), “Kentucky Fried Movie” (1977), “Killer Klowns from Outer Space” (1988), “The Killing” (1956), “The Leopard Man” (1943), “The Little Shop of Horrors” (1960), “Mad Max” (1979), “Mondo Cane” (1963), “Monty Python and the Holy Grail” (1975), “Night of the Living Dead” (1968), “Pink Flamingos” (1972), “Plan 9 from Outer Space” (1959), “Reefer Madness” (1936), “Shaft” (1971), “The Texas Chainsaw Massacre” (1973) and “The Toxic Avenger” (1985).
For more info, visit the official B-Movie Hall of Fame web site.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join our Film Threat Newsletter

Newsletter Icon