Film Threat archive logo


By Film Threat Staff | April 9, 2002

Trophies usually get dirty, and certificates end up in a box in the garage. The Taos Talking Picture Festival knows that talented filmmakers deserve awards with a little more meaning, hence their gift of five acres of land for the winner of their annual Land Grant Award.
Six finalists have been selected for the 2002 Award, and a jury will announce the winner during this year’s Festival on Saturday, April 13th. The filmmakers and films vying for acreage this year are:
Zev Berman’s “Briar Patch,” starring Dominique Swain. ^ Sturla Gunnarsson’s “Rare Birds,” starring William Hurt, Andy Jones and Molly Parker. ^ Paul F. Ryan’s “Home Room,” starring Erika Christensen and Busy Philipps. ^ Tony Shaloub’s “Made-Up,” starring Brooke Adams and Gary Sinise. ^ Finn Taylor’s “Cherish,” starring Robin Tunney. ^ Ralph Ziman’s “The Zookeeper,” starring Sam Neill.
Previous winners of the Taos Land Grant Award include Chris Eyre (“Smoke Signals”) and Lukas Moodysson (“Together”).
More on the 2002 Taos Talking Picture Festival can be found at the official Taos site. Check it out for the latest schedule updates, a look at the history of the Fest, and a comprehensive list of past Land Grant Award winners.
Check out’s FILM FESTIVAL ARCHIVES for more fest news!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join our Film Threat Newsletter

Newsletter Icon