By Film Threat Staff | February 9, 2005

At the annual black-tie Filmmaker Tribute Dinner presentation of the Regal Entertainment Group’s Achievement Awards – this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award to Ms. Leslie Caron and Career Achievement to Rutger Hauer – at the Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota on Saturday evening, February 5, the Competition and Audience Awards for the 7th Annual Sarasota Film Festival were announced.

Each of the competition awards carry a $5,000 cash prize for the filmmaker.

The 2005 Narrative Feature Competition Award was presented to Danny Boyle’s Millions (UK).

The 2005 Documentary Feature Competition Award was presented to Stephen Vittoria’s One Bright Shining Moment: The Forgotten Summer of George McGovern.

The 2005 Independent Visions Competition Award was a tie between Rob Stefaniuk’s Phil The Alien and James Westby’s Film Geek.

The Emerging Filmmaker Award was presented to director Jason White for his short film Spins created at the University of Southern California.

The Young Filmmakers Showcase presented the Best Director Award to Richard Bertelsen for his film Creed He will receive $1000 Scholarship courtesy of The Newgate School.

The Best Short Family Film Award was presented to director Art Curry for his film Pen Pals, and chosen by 6 young local cineastes: Ashley Bustetter, Dylan de Fouw, Michael Everett, Rosa Flores-Soto, Genesis Soto, Torus Washington who are currently enrolled in the Big Brothers, Big Sisters program.

The Sarasota Film Festival Scholarship recipients were Asa Donat of Florida State University with the Gerd-Petrick Scholarship and Victor De Oliveira of Manatee Community College with the Dr. John Welch Scholarship.

Special recognition goes to winners of our Audience Favorite Awards for Best Narrative Feature, Best Documentary, Excellence in World Cinema, and Best Short Film, all presented courtesy of the Amicus Foundation and the Mark P. Famiglio Foundation. Each category carries a $1,000 cash prize presented to the filmmaker.

The 2005 Sarasota Film Festival Audience Award for Best Narrative Feature was presented to director Dave McKean’s Mirrormask.

The 2005 Sarasota Film Festival Audience Award for Best Documentary was presented to director Rebecca Dreyfus’s Stolen.

The 2005 Sarasota Film Festival Audience Award for Excellence in World Cinema was presented to director Prachya Pinkaew’s Ong Bak: Thai Warrior (Thailand).

The 2005 Sarasota Film Festival Audience Award for Best Short Film was presented to director Tony Mosher’s Frijolito, Go!.

For more info, visit the Sarasota Film Festival website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join our Film Threat Newsletter

Newsletter Icon