The Santa Fe Film Festival granted Luminaria Awards to two film legends – Alan Arkin and Alfonso Arau, showcased both the Governor’s state-wide awards and the Film Museum’s industry tributes, and awarded ten Milagro Awards at a star studded gala Saturday night.
Hosted by Jonathan Richards, the sold-out Gala lauded Arkin and Arau for careers of many decades and across several artistic endeavors. Retrospectives of their work had played to enthusiastic fans across the five-day festival.

Welcoming Arkin to the Luminaria Club, to which she was inducted in 2002, actress Shirley MacLaine said of Arkin that his humor was his indelible mark on their profession. Citing personal remembrances from their movie together, Miss MacLaine entranced the audience with tales of the day she and Arkin had spent in a bed – laughing.

In her remarks honoring Alfonso Arau, Santa Fe celebrity and actress Ali McGraw said she and Arau shared one of the same heroes – Sam Peckinpah.

The Film Museum of New Mexico inaugurated awards recognizing and celebrating service to advance filmmaking in New Mexico to three long-time film professionals. Museum Board President JoAnn Balzer cited two distinguished individuals and the 357 members of IATSE Local 480:

State Senator Shannon Robinson, 16 year member of the State Senate from Albuquerque, has been the driving force behind much of New Mexico’s progressive legislation providing incentive for filmmakers.

Alton Walpole’s 30-year career in films and television has covered almost every filmmaking profession and earned him national awards. Walpole has also been actively involved in the Santa Fe Film Festival since its inception.

IATSE Local 480 was cited for its steadfast advocacy of the Film Museum and its current leadership in efforts to launch the statewide Technical Training Initiative.

Eric Witt, Director of Legislative Affairs for Gov. Bill Richardson, made awards in the governor’s name to winners of the Inaugural Governor’s Cup Film Festival. The Governor’s Cup Film Festival, an initiative of Gov. Richardson and the New Mexico Film Office, was created in May of this year to showcase up-and-coming talent from around the state and to help promote and distribute films made by New Mexicans.

Over 150 short films statewide were submitted and five regional screenings were held around the state in October and November. The Santa Fe Film Fest spotlighted the top15 finalists from around the state and on Dec. 4, the following winners were announced:

The Spirit of New Mexico Award, given to the film that best captures the essence of the state, went to: NUESTRAS ACEQUIAS directed by Doug Crawford. The

New Mexico Department of Tourism sponsored this award and graciously donated two tickets anywhere Southwest Airlines flies.

The Third Place winner of the Governor’s Cup Festival receives a check for $500 from Comcast and the winner was (once again) NUESTRAS ACEQUIAS, directed by Doug Crawford.

The Second Place winner receives a check for $500 from Comcast plus gift certificates and prizes valued at over $200. The award went to RAVEN TALES, directed by Chris Kientz and Simon James.

The Grand Prize winner receives:

* A check for $500 from Comcast

* Full admission to the Santa Fe Screenwriters‚ Conference, valued at $700

* Post-Production Services donated by Fire Creek Productions and the Grammy Award-winning Santa Fe Center Studios, allowing the winner to build a professional movie trailer.

And Lastly,

* The Governor’s Cup, a bronze work of art by sculptor Michael Orgel.

The 2004 Governor’s Cup was awarded to ALLISON, directed by Jeff Drew. Drew’s last film was in Sundance.

The 2004 Santa Fe Film Festival Milagro Awards were presented as follows:

Best Documentary Film Mojados; Through the Night ^ Accepted by Tommy Davis, Director

Best Southwest Film World Without Waves ^ Accepted by J. Mitchell Johnson, Director/Writer

Best Animation Film Earth ^ Accepted by Jihyun Song, animator

Best Latino Film Paper Dove ^ Accepted by Bruno Boscio, Distributor

Best Creative Spirit Film Loss of Nameless Things ^ Accepted by Bill Rose, Director

Best Native American Film Raven Tales ^ Accepted by Chris Kientz, Director

Best Short Film Bicycles and Radios

Independent Spirit Award Sonata ^ Accepted by Boris Undorf, Director/writer/producer and Nicole DuPort, lead actress

The Audience Choice Award Elephant Shoes ^ Accepted by Christos Sourligas, Director/writer/producer and Stacie
Morgain Lewis

The Best of Festival Award Nobody Knows ^ Accepted FOR Hirokazu Kore-eda, Director/ writer/producer

For more info, visit the Santa Fe Film Festival website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join our Film Threat Newsletter

Newsletter Icon