Film Threat archive logo


By Film Threat Staff | January 6, 2004

The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King won nine awards including Best Picture in the 7th Annual Online Film Critics Society Awards.  The awards were voted by the 146-member Online Film Critics Society, the international professional association of Internet-based cinema journalists.

The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King also picked up the Best Director Award for Peter Jackson, the Best Adapated Screenplay Award (for Philippa Boyens, Peter Jackson and Fran Walsh), Best Original Score honors for Howard Shore, and technical awards for achievements in Cinematography, Art Direction, Costume Design, Sound and Visual Effects.

Lost in Translation won two awards: Bill Murray for Best Actor and Sofia Coppola for Best Original Screenplay.  Naomi Watts was named Best Actress for 21 Grams, Peter Sarsgaaard won Best Supporting Actor honors for Shattered Glass and Shohreh Aghdashloo won the Best Supporting Actress Award for House of Sand and Fog.

The Brazilian City of God was named Best Foreign-Language Film.  “Capturing the Friedmans” took the Best Documentary prize and Finding Nemo was named Best Animated Feature.

Shari Springer Berman and Robert Pulcini shared the Breakthrough Filmmaker prize for their direction of American Splendor.  New Zealand newcomer Keisha Castle-Hughes won the Breakthrough Performance Award for her film debut in “Whale Rider.”
For more info, visit the OFCS website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join our Film Threat Newsletter

Newsletter Icon