Film Threat archive logo


By Film Threat Staff | March 28, 2003

Nominations are now being sought for the 2003 edition of the National Film Registry, an annual listing of classic American films published by the Library of Congress’ National Film Preservation Board. People have until April 15 to cast their votes.
To be eligible for the Registry, a film must be at least 10 years old and be “culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant.” Congress first established the National Film Registry in the 1988 National Film Preservation Act, and most recently extended the Registry with passage of the National Film Preservation Act of 1996. Along with mandating continuing implementation of a plan to save the American film heritage, this law authorizes the Librarian of Congress (after reviewing public suggestions and consulting extensively with film experts and the 40 members and alternates of the National Film Preservation Board) to select up to 25 films each year for inclusion in the Registry.
Since the registry was created in 1989, 325 films have been chosen, illustrating the vibrant diversity of American filmmaking, and range from well-known Hollywood classics (“Casablanca,” “The African Queen,” and “A Night at the Opera”) to landmark independent, documentary and avant-garde masterpieces (“Nothing But a Man,” “Louisiana Story,” and “Meshes of the Afternoon”) to beloved popcorn favorites (the Three Stooges short “Punch Drunks,” “Aliens” and “Abbott and Costello Meet Frankenstein”).
For more information, visit the National Film Registry online.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join our Film Threat Newsletter

Newsletter Icon