By Film Threat Staff | October 1, 2001

NOTE: The date of the American Cinematheque Award Presentation to 2001 Honoree Nicolas Cage has been rescheduled for Sunday, October 28th at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.
The 16th American Cinematheque Award will be presented to Nicolas Cage at the Cinematheque’s annual benefit gala. Samuel L. Jackson will host the Cinematheque Tribute and Award presentation on Sunday, October 28th, 2001 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel’s International Ballroom in Beverly Hills.
“We are delighted to join with the American Cinematheque in saluting Nicolas Cage, one of Hollywood’s most talented and versatile actors. With a career based on bold choices representing a wide variety of genres, he is equally well known for his critically acclaimed dramatic portrayals as for his action-adventure blockbusters. He continues to surprise and delight audiences throughout the world,” said the co-chairs. “We are looking forward to a wonderful evening honoring this extraordinary artist.” The Tribute will be broadcast on Turner Network Television. The award show is produced by Robert Dalrymple and Paul Flattery, who are also executive producers of the television show. Executive Producer for Turner Network Television is Sandy Shapiro.
Cage was the unanimous choice of the Cinematheque Board of Directors selection committee, which since 1986, has annually honored an extraordinary artist (actor, producer, director or writer) in the entertainment industry, who is fully engaged in his or her work and is committed to making a significant contribution to the art of the motion picture. Nicolas Cage received an Academy Award for his performance as an alcoholic drinking himself to death in the MGM drama “Leaving Las Vegas,” directed by Mike Figgis; as well as a Golden Globe, and Best Actor awards from the New York Film Critics Circle, the Los Angeles Film Critics Association, the Chicago Film Critics and the National Board of Review. He was also named Showest’s Star of the Decade in 2001. Cage’s career began with the cult classic “Valley Girl.” Film Threat is shocked that he didn’t get an award for this 80s classic, but this Cinematheque shindig and award thingy should make up for it.
Eddie Murphy received the first American Cinematheque Award in 1986. Previous honorees are as follows: Bette Midler (1987); Robin Williams (1988); Steven Spielberg (1989); Ron Howard (1990); Martin Scorsese (1991); Sean Connery (1992); Michael Douglas (1993); Rob Reiner (1994); Mel Gibson (1995); Tom Cruise (1996); John Travolta (1997); Arnold Schwarzenegger (1998); Jodie Foster (1999); Bruce Willis (2000). Twelve hundred entertainment industry notables are expected to attend the Tribute.
Check out’s NEWS ARCHIVES and get the movie news you missed!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join our Film Threat Newsletter

Newsletter Icon
Skip to toolbar