Film Threat archive logo


By Film Threat Staff | January 16, 2002

The Library of Congress is seeking nominations for the 2002 roll-call on its National Film Registry. To be eligible, a film must be an American production at least 10 years old and be, according to the LOC, “culturally, historically or aesthetically significant.”
The National Film Registry, which was established in 1988, consists of 325 films including Hollywood classics, short subjects, pioneering silent movies, independent films, animation, documentaries, avant-garde experiments and celebrated amateur productions. Each year, 25 films are added to the National Film Registry; the most recent additions to the registry were announced in December and included the classics “Jaws” (1975), “Planet of the Apes” (1968) and “Abbott and Costello Meet Frankenstein” (1948).
Nominations can be made via e-mail and should be received by March 30; it is highly advised to check the registry to avoid nominating films which are already listed.
Make your voice heard and visit the National Film Registry’s nomination site.
Check out’s NEWS ARCHIVES and get the movie news you missed!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join our Film Threat Newsletter

Newsletter Icon