Film Threat archive logo


By Film Threat Staff | April 8, 2006

The 8th annual The Method Fest Independent Film Festival, presented by the City of Calabasas, announced the winners of the 2006 Method Fest Awards on Friday, April 7, 2006 at the Carlson Family Theater in Calabasas, CA.

“This year we had so many great performances that the judges really had a tough time deciding the award winners,” stated Don Franken, the festival’s executive director. “ A large number of high quality films with outstanding acting made it the most competitive acting competition ever. What defined this year’s festival was the emergence of so many talented young actors and filmmakers” Franken added.

The City of Calabasas Best Picture Award winner was “December Ends,” written and directed by Lee Toland Krieger, and starring Josh Janoswicz and Alex Thayer.

Standard Pacific Homes Geraldine Page Award for Best Actress was shared by the female leads of the festival’s opening night film “Dreamland” Agnes Bruckner and Kelli Garner. The pair was also awarded the Valley of the Stars Rising Star Award during the festival.

New Millenium Homes John Garfield Award for Best Actor Award went to Josh Janowicz for his performance in “December Ends.”

Jason Matzner, who directed “Dreamland” was awarded the Charter Communications Best Director Award. The Daily News Best Screenplay winner was “In A Day” writer Evan Richards, who also directed the film.

The Bob Smith BMW Best Supporting Actress Award went to Magenia Tovah of “Dark Heart,” and the MSN Spaces Best Supporting Actor went to John Corbett of “Dreamland”.

Eugene Byrd was awarded the Wexler Breakout Performance Award for his role in “Confess.”

The Corona Best Ensemble Cast was presented to the cast of “Debating Robert Lee,” which includes Daniel Letterle, Billy Kay, Kaley Cuoco, Beau Bridges, Rachel Nichols, Brian Kerwin and Melinda Dillon.

The Jet Blue Maverick Award went to “Bangkok,” for high quality in low budget filmmaking and unique vision.

The Christie Digital Audience Award for Best Picture was awarded to “Push,” written and directed by Dave Rodriguez, and starring Chad Lindberg, Charlotte Ayanna, Pierce Forsythe, Michael Rapaport and Chazz Palminteri.

Other winners include:
Modern Videofilm Best Short — “Paradox,” director: Jeremy Haccoun
Adelphia Best Actor in a Short — Evan Lee Dahl in “Christopher Brennan Saves the World”
Country Inn & Suites Best Actress in a Short — Elizabeth Ruscio in “In Order of Appearance”
Prudential California Realty Best Student Film — “Wentworth,” director: R. Stephen Suettinger
SAG Indie Audience Award for Best Short – “Big Girl,” director Renuka Jeyapalan
The Auto Gallery Ferrari Maserati Festival Director’s Award for Excellence –
Co Winners:

“Dirt Nap” and “Expiration Date”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join our Film Threat Newsletter

Newsletter Icon