OUTFEST, celebrating its 21st birthday in 2003 as one of the world’s largest gay and lesbian film festivals and the largest film festival in Southern California, concluded this banner year with its 9th Annual Film Competition Awards Presentation, in which 15 competitive film awards were announced in three categories: Grand Jury Awards, Audience Awards and Special Programming Awards. Most notably, Jack Plotnick, Clinton Leupp and Jeffery Roberson all won for the Grand Jury Award for OUTstanding Actor in a Feature Film in “Girls Will be Girls.”
The winners of the Grand Jury Awards are as follows:
OUTstanding American Narrative FeatureThe Mudge Boy ^ Writer/Director: Michael Burke
OUTstanding International Narrative Feature – “Porn Theatre” ^ Writer/Director: Jack Nolot
OUTstanding Documentary Feature – “The Opposite Sex, Rene’s Story” ^ Director: Josh Aronson
OUTstanding Screenwriting – Richard Day for “Girls Will Be Girls”
OUTstanding Actor in a Feature Film – Jack Plotnick, Clinton Leupp, Jeffery Roberson (a tie) for “Girls Will Be Girls”
OUTstanding Actress in a Feature Film – Olympia Dukakis for The Event
The winners of the Audience Awards are as follows:
HBO OUTstanding First Narrative Feature – “Latter Days” ^ Writer/Director: C. Jay Cox ^ This is the only award to also include a $5,000 cash prize, courtesy of
OUTstanding Narrative Feature – “Goldfish Memory” ^ Writer/Director: Liz Gill
OUTstanding Documentary FeatureA tie ^ Brother Outsider: The Life of Bayard Rustin ^ Directors: Nancy Kates & Bennett Singer ^ “Laughing Matters” ^ Director: Andrea Meyerson
OUTstanding Narrative Short FilmD.E.B.S. ^ Director: Angela Robinson
OUTstanding Documentary Short Film – “Where the Girls Are” ^ Directors: Tricia Cooke and Jennifer Arnold
OUTstanding Soundtrack – “Radical Harmonies” ^ Director: Dee Mosbacher
The winners of the Special Programming Awards are as follows:
Freedom Award – Remi Lange for “Tarik El Hob” (The Path of Love)
Emerging Talent – Tracy Flannigan for “Rise Above: The Tribe 8 Documentary”
Artistic Achievement – Pat O’Neill for Decay of Fiction
Congrats to all of the winners!
For more post fest info, visit the Outfest website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join our Film Threat Newsletter

Newsletter Icon