By Film Threat Staff | August 2, 2005

Hypefest 2005 took place July 30 -July 31 at CineSpace in Hollywood and showcased approximately 75 original short-subject works from filmmakers around the world.
The Style Council Award, which recognizes a project for its unique style and visual panache, was given to “Float (My Electric Stargirl),” The Atomic Swindlers music video directed by Joel Trussell. “Rainy Day Fun for Children Ages 6 and Up” from Director Jake Portman, received the Honorable Mention. The D.I.Y. Award, presented to a compelling project created on a limited budget, went to “Conversations,” directed by Ben Rock. Honorable Mention went to “Waking Dreams” helmed by John Daschbach. Stash Magazine’s Animation Award, which honored the best-animated project, was presented to “Madga” by Chel White. “Cashback” from Director Sean Ellis received the Audience Award for Saturday, July 30th and “6 Ft. in 7 Min.” by Director Rafael del Toro garnered the Audience Award for Sunday, July 31st. The audience awards went to the projects voted most popular by attending audiences.
Prizes were furnished by production and postproduction supplier Moviola, DVD Magazine Stash, entertainment business software provider Media Services, indie music store Amoeba Music, Agua Spa at the Mondrian Hotel, Hollywood restaurants Kabuki and Kung Pao Kitty, AMP Filmworks rentals for advanced media production, the Writers Store, and publisher Michael Wiese Productions. All award winners received an outrageous, cheer-inspired HypeFest trophy. Additionally, select HypeFest films will be showcased on an upcoming Paste Magazine DVD and have the opportunity to be highlighted on the web-based distribution site Big Film Shorts.
Also honored were the films “Staring at the Sun” by Toby Wilkins with the Eerie Prediction Award, “How to Ace an Intervention” by Ned Farr with the Self-Help Award, and “Lucky” by Melissa Berman with The Good Life Award.
For the screenplay competition first place went to James D. Tuverson for “Hours Before Dawn.” Finalists were Wendy Jo Cohen for “Underachiever” and Stacy Dymalski for “The Write Stuff.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join our Film Threat Newsletter

Newsletter Icon