Film Threat archive logo


By Film Threat Staff | February 8, 2001

The Hollywood Black Film Festival, which ran from [ January 31st ] through [ February 4th, 2001 ] has just announced their list of winners for the 2001 event:
[ The HBFF Jury Award for Best Feature Film ] “Chikin Biznis” directed by Mtutuzeli Matshoba and written by Ntshaven Wa Luruli. ^ [ Feature Film Honorable Mention ] ^ “All or Nothing” directed by Adisa Clyde and written by Jeffrey L. Davis.
[ The HBFF Jury Award for Best Short ] ^ “Room 302” directed by Erma Elzy-Jones and written by Deborah E. Ward. ^ [ Short Film Honorable Mention ] ^ “The Cheater” written and directed by Jena Starkes.
[ The HBFF Jury Award for Best Student Film ] ^ “The Gilded Six Bits” written and directed by Booker T. Matison. ^ [ Student Film Honorable Mentions ] ^ “Forgive Me” by Devon Gregory and “The Big Headache” by Leigh Dana Jackson.
[ The HBFF Jury Award for Best Documentary ] ^ “I Was Made to Love Her” directed by Nicole Franklin. ^ [ Documentary Honorable Mention ] “Voice of the Voiceless” directed by Tania Cuevas- Martinez.
[ The HBFF Audience Choice Award ] ^ “Amour Infinity” written and directed by Jerry Lamouthe.
For more from the Festival, including their full schedule and the latest news, check out the [ Hollywood Black Film Festival website. ]
Check out’s FILM FESTIVAL ARCHIVES for more fest news!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join our Film Threat Newsletter

Newsletter Icon