The 2014 Oxford Film Festival has announced the award winners for its 11th annual event. From the official press release:

The Oxford Film Festival is proud to present the winners from the awards ceremony at the Lyric Theater in downtown Oxford, Mississippi held on Saturday, February 8.

This year’s festival was held February 6-9 and included 78 films ranging from animation, experimental, documentary, narrative, features and shorts and a wide range of Mississippi films.

This year’s festival was a record year for filmmaker’s attendance with 58 of the films represented for Q&A’s.

“The 11th annual festival has turned to be the most successful yet,” Molly Fergusson, Executive Director, said. “The new Oxford Malco Commons and the new partnership with Oxford Conference Center was instrumental in growing our festival to the largest it has ever been. We look forward to working on the 2015 festival with them and our many sponsors, partners and great volunteers.”

A full listing of our jury is at http://oxfordfilmfest.com/judges-2014/.

The winners of the Hoka award in each category are:

Narrative Feature
Teddy Bears

Special Jury Prize for Best Performance in a Narrative Feature: Barry Nash
Special Jury Prize for Best Emerging Director: Juli Jackson

Documentary Feature
Bending Steel

Narrative Shorts

Documentary Shorts
Herd in Iceland

Honorable mention: “Balloon Cat”
Honorable mention: “Baby Chicken”

Virtuous Virtuell
Honorable mention: “Tokyo = Fukushima”

Mississippi Music Video
Poor Lost Souls

Mississippi Narrative Shorts

Special Mention –
Cinematography – “Surface”

Mississippi Documentary Shorts
Landscapes of the Heart: The Elizabeth Spencer Story

Additional awards were given to Jason Ritter for Achievement in Film, Susan McPhail for the Hat Trick award for three films in the festival and Barry Nash of Bob Birdnow for the Lisa Blount Memorial Acting Award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join our Film Threat Newsletter

Newsletter Icon