It’s all over but the drinking! The 2008 Independent Spirit Awards are over, and the winners are as follows:

Best Feature

Best Director
Julian Schnabel, “The Diving Bell and the Butterfly”

Best Male Lead
Philip Seymour Hoffman, “The Savages”

Best Female Lead
Ellen Page, “Juno”

Best Supporting Male
Chiwetel Ejiofor, “Talk to Me”

Best Supporting Female
Cate Blanchett, “I’m Not There”

Best Screenplay
Tamara Jenkins, “The Savages”

Best Cinematography
“The Diving Bell and the Butterfly”

Best Foreign Film
“Once” (Ireland)

Best Documentary
“Crazy Love”

Best First Feature
“The Lookout”

Best First Screenplay
Diablo Cody, “Juno”

Robert Altman Award “I’m Not There”
Director: Todd Haynes
Casting Director: Laura Rosenthal
Ensemble Cast: Cate Blanchett, Christian Bale, Richard Gere, Heath Ledger, Ben Whishaw, Marcus Carl Franklin, Charlotte Gainsbourg, Bruce Greenwood, David Cross, Julianne Moore, Michelle Williams

John Cassavetes Award
“August Evening”

IFC Truer Than Fiction Award
Laura Dunn, Director of “The Unforeseen”

IFC/Acura Someone to Watch Award
Ramin Bahrani, Director of “Chop Shop”

Axium Producers Award
Neil Kopp, Producer of “Paranoid Park” and “Old Joy”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Support Film Threat

View all products

Join our Film Threat Newsletter

Newsletter Icon