Film Threat archive logo


By Film Threat Staff | October 15, 2008

The 12th Annual Hollywood Film Festival and Hollywood Awards, co-chaired by Paul Haggis and presented by Starz, have unveiled the line-up of the finalists for this year’s festival. Carlos de Abreu, Founder and Executive Director of the festival also announced the nominees for the Hollywood Movie of the Year Awards®.

The 12th Annual Hollywood Film Festival will take place October 22 to 26 at the ArcLight Cinemas in Hollywood. Once again, this year’s festival will highlight the films of emerging filmmakers. The program includes the opening night premiere screening of Jim Dziura’s documentary about gun violence in the hip hop world, “Number One with a Bullet,” which features Ice Cube, Krs-One, Mos-Def and Young Buck; the centerpiece premieres of Starz’s “Fashion in Film,” the documentary “The Forgotten Woman,” directed by Dilip Mehta and written by Deepa Mehta; Mark C. Andrews’ “Seal Team VI”; director Jim Pasternak’s documentary “Certifiably Jonathan,” featuring Jonathan Winters, Robin Williams and Howie Mandel; and the closing night premiere of director Jeremy Benson’s horror film “Live Animals.” Q & A sessions will follow the screenings of “Number One with a Bullet,” “The Forgotten Woman” and “Seal Team VI.”

The festival’s programming includes features, documentaries, shorts and mobile videos from Belgium, Canada, Chile, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Israel, New Zealand, Portugal, the United Kingdom and the United States. For film program, screening schedule, and festival event information, please visit the festival’s website at

The festival will also continue its tradition of highlighting genre films by presenting the Hollywood Horror, Sci-Fi and Fantasy Festival, in alliance with Film Threat, on October 24, 25, and 26.

In addition, the festival has announced the nominees for this year’s “Hollywood Movie of the Year Awards.” The winner will be decided by public voting at the Yahoo! Movies website – This year’s nominees for the “Hollywood Movie of the Year Awards” are: “The Dark Knight” directed by Christopher Nolan; “Dr. Seuss’ Horton Hears a Who!” directed by Jimmy Hayward and Steve Martino; “Hancock” directed by Peter Berg; “Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull” directed by Steven Spielberg; “Iron Man” directed by Jon Favreau; “Kung Fu Panda” directed by Mark Osborne and John Stevenson; “Sex and the City” directed by Michael Patrick King; “Tropic Thunder” directed by Ben Stiller; “Wall-E” directed by Andrew Stanton; and “Wanted” directed by Timur Bekmambetov.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join our Film Threat Newsletter

Newsletter Icon