The 12th Annual Hollywood Film Festival and Hollywood Awards, co-chaired by Paul Haggis and presented by Starz, announced that Academy Award-winning director and producer Clint Eastwood will receive the Hollywood Director of the Year Award at the festival’s Hollywood Awards Gala Ceremony on October 27, 2008 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills.

“Clint Eastwood is truly an American film icon, and his impressive body of work exemplifies his extraordinary ability, craftsmanship and determination as an actor, director and producer,” said Carlos de Abreu, Founder and Executive Director of the Hollywood Film Festival. “He continues to wow audiences with his creative vision as a filmmaker, and we are thrilled to honor him at the Hollywood Awards.”

“Just when you think Clint Eastwood is about to take a breath, he shoots two films in a year and starts prepping a third, and barely thinks any of that is worth mentioning. He brings dignity, grace, humility, humor, quiet confidence and a sense of ease to a profession that is in sore need of all of those virtues,” said screenwriter, director and Awards co-chair Paul Haggis.

Marc Forster, Ron Howard, Michael Mann, Sam Mendes, Martin Scorsese and Oliver Stone are among the past honorees of the “Hollywood Director of the Year Award.”

Previously announced honorees for this year’s Hollywood Awards include: Christopher Nolan, Charles Roven and Emma Thomas for the Producers Award; James Franco for the Breakthrough Actor Award; Sally Hawkins for the Breakthrough Actress Award; John Patrick Shanley for both the Screenwriter Award, and the Breakthrough Director Award; Dustin Lance Black for the Breakthrough Screenwriter Award; Disney/Pixar’s Wall-E and director Andrew Stanton for the Hollywood Animation Award; Paramount Pictures’ Iron Man and visual effects supervisors John Nelson and Ben Snow for the Hollywood Visual Effects Award; Danny Elfman for Film Composer Award; Mandy Walker for Cinematographer Award; Daniel P. Hanley and Mike Hill for Editor Award; Sarah Greenwood for Production Designer Award; and Deborah Hopper for Costume Designer Award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Join our Film Threat Newsletter

Newsletter Icon