Award This! Honors Indie Filmmakers with a Drive-In Event and Virtual Awards Show Image

Award This! returns for its third year and is happening very differently in 2021. This years’ Award This! will take place at a drive-in in conjunction with the Frida Cinema at the Mess Hall in Tustin, CA on Saturday, April 10th (limited tickets available at, and a virtual event for global audiences can be seen on Sunday, April 18th and it’s free to register in advance for tickets here.

Indie film champion, Film Threat, (yes, that’s us) led by founder and filmmaker Chris Gore, and in conjunction with their partner Magical Threads, will host an incredible celebration of truly independent films with the return of Award This! Beloved indie veterans, comedians and stars will join us as we honor the creative excellence of deserving indie films, across a number of bold and diverse categories including Indie Sci-Fi, Indie Horror, Indie Comedy, Indie LGBTQ+ Themed Film, Indie Action/Thriller,WTF Indie, Sports Documentary, Pop Culture Documentary, Socially Relevant Documentary, Ensemble Cast, Best Director, Best Directress, Indie Made for Less Than the Contents of an Oscar Gift Bag (Under $100K), and Indie Movie of the Year.

The Award This! “voice of God” aka show announcer and epic voice guy, Jon Bailey, will get the party started for a rollicking indie awards show. Award This! sponsors and partners include Filmocracy, the Frida Cinema, Storyblocks, Artist Vodka and charity HashtagLunchbag. Nominations for the 2021 Award This! will be announced on February 17th, 2021.

“Coming out of a year where our world changed so dramatically, we are thrilled to honor the creativity and ingenuity of indie filmmakers, who persevered – adapting to get their films out to audiences,” said Chris Gore.

Last years presenters included Angie Wang (MDMA, and the upcoming Shotgun Bride), Esther Ku (Girl Code, Last Comic Standing), Erick Weber, editor of The Awards Ace, Kimberly Browning (All Hallows Eve 2, The Jacksons: A Family Dynasty), Bil Dwyer (Hot in Cleveland, The Larry Sanders Show), Matt Weinhold (Trekkies, Beware the Batman), David Huntsburger, (Bill Nye Saves the World, and host of the Space Cave podcast), Michael Cornacchia (Hannah Montana: The Movie, Happy Feet), Kevin Avery (Comedy Central, Last Week Tonight with John Oliver), James Kerwin (one of the founders of Star Trek Continues, When the Train Stops), Ron Placone, co-host of The Jimmy Dore Show), Laura House, Where the Heart is, and show runner for Secret Life of Boys), Suzy Nakamura (Avenue 5, Modern Family), Chris Mancini (one of the founders of Comedy Film Nerds), Chris Gore (Film Threat founder), Alan Ng, managing editor of Film Threat, and Dante James, Film Threat writer and pop culture critic.

Film Threat’s Award This! is an event with a clear mission — to champion independent films in a variety of exciting categories in order to bring greater awareness to the growing number of exceptional independent films available on numerous platforms including VOD and streaming services. Recognizing these films during the height of award season creates a well-deserved visibility for these artists and creators. Watch last years’ Film Threat’s Award This!


Award This! is composed of the staff of Film Threat’s editors and critics which number 30+ worldwide along with an advisory board of media figures and independent film luminaries. The winners are selected by the editors of Film Threat along with the advisory board. Get more about the event and learn about the Award This! Eligibility Requirements. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Join our Film Threat Newsletter

Newsletter Icon